Ambivalence in Earnest

January 23, 2011

This morning

I changed my mind

Five times

Before tasting

the first sip of coffee,

Or five fingers full of

apple-raisin-bran muffin.

This decision was not hard.

However,

I zigged left

And then turned right

Then circled back again,

All in pursuit of a worthy cause.

Or not.

This decision was not hard.

Risk versus obligation

Placed squarely on the scales

Safety or quest,

The pros and cons

perfectly balanced

Equal partners

In league with

abmbivalence.

There they lie

sideways on the tray

Lifeless and spent

Fish eyes staring back at me

Unblinking

As if I was the question.

The decision was not hard.

Thanks to Nan for the photo!

5 Responses to “Ambivalence in Earnest”

  1. nancemarie said

    you inspire
    me
    over the ivy wall
    out of the park
    and right through a picture window

    this is fantastic

  2. Thanks Nance. But I don’t think this one has a very good tempo — it kind of rambles rather than falling into a structure. Time for poetry lessons?

  3. nancemarie said

    i like the playful yet serious quality
    the questions
    the pictures
    the way it circles around

    i like the tempo…
    it feels right to me.

    if you take lessons, i hope that it would not be to lose these qualities, but, only because you want to learn. there is nothing that you need to make right. yet, there are many ways to write poetry. i think that you would enjoy trying them out.

  4. I feel like this is the quintessential poem. I’m even going to give it a title. 🙂

    “Pros and Cons”

    There they lie

    sideways on the tray

    Lifeless and spent

    Fish eyes staring back at me

    Unblinking

    As if I was the question.

Leave a Reply

