In Our Image

October 20, 2010

Your eyes have drawn me in

again

Like a flame beckoning

To hold, to trust

To know beyond doubt

That this is real.

Your touch lights my soul,

Reminds me of living

And dying

And never wanting to be alone

Without you.

This is our past

And our future

Colliding as one

Into each other’s arms

Like we do,

Making this life our own

In our image

Of our flesh, our bones, our sweat –

our fleeting, fragile selves

Longing to be whole.

So we give

Entirely,

completely surrendering

To each other,

together

giving in

to the destiny

that is ours –

Only taking

what belongs to us.

I wrote this poem for my wife in celebration of our 25th anniversary. I read it to her on an isolated beach in Nantucket as we toasted our champagne glasses.

Image by Nancy Rosback, “A Collaboration in Time.” How appropos.

4 Responses to “In Our Image”

  1. BTW she totally gave me permission to publish this on the blog here. Just so you know.

  2. it must be wonderful to receive something
    so touchingly beautiful, i can hardly imagine it.

    a gift of words and time and love.
    very special. thank you for sharing it.

    and thank you for using the image, doing
    this image starting with a section of painting
    done by georgia o’keefe really
    made me realize how things can continue,
    relate to another person in another lifetime,
    and be used beyond one’s imagination.

  3. that is totally the sweetest. I bet she waited years for you to write her some poetry… and now look at you. 🙂

    That piece of art is stunning too. I would love to put it on my wall to make me smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

