Post-Op

June 22, 2010

Was that

a wisp of the winged Spirit,

that I discerned last night;

Descending like

a dreamy Visitor

to this gowned and gauzy soul?

Was it

the One

who beckons me –

gently calling,

leading,

and guiding me

towards a bright,

consummate,

transcendent

destiny of hope?

Or was it the medication?

7 Responses to “Post-Op”

  1. Maureen said

    Quite an ending!

  2. Lol. I love this. It reminds me a little of my gift poem to you after the surgery. Except this one is better because it also manages to be philosophical! 🙂

    And the pun on “post” is funny too. (Intended? 🙂 )

    • Yes, this poem was about that exact thing. I took a little pill after surgery that made me feel on top of the world, spiritually, and I saw huge possibilities for God’s work in my life. Then the medication wore off and I just wanted to throw up. I thought it was interesting.

    • No, “post” was not intended. Just pure dumb subconscious luck, I guess. But I’ll take the credit, just the same.

  3. Kathleen said

    Consummate hope, always, however it comes. 🙂

  4. nance said

    good stinger…

    my fave words together are
    “gowned and gauzy soul”

    cool

  5. You will find there is a lot of subconscious luck in poetry. Which inspires you to believe that it can happen in other areas of life maybe more than you thought too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

